Review: Rachel’s Holiday

November 21, 2006

Rachel's Holiday CoverRachel’s Holiday
By Marian Keyes

Grade: A

The Synopsis:
Irish-born New Yorker, Rachel Walsh, finds herself prodded into rehab by her concerned friends and family due to her abuse of cocaine and alcohol. Rachel lets herself be convinced because she is expecting a spa-like environment, filled with movie stars. Instead she finds herself doing housework, cooking food, and slowly realizes that she really does have a problem.

The Review:
I absolutely love Marian Keyes, and this is one of her best books. It takes a serious topic that I have rarely seen covered in a chick lit novel, and makes it witty and fun to read about. The novel has a love interest, but Rachel’s drug problem must be solved first. It is refreshing to read a book where the main focus is not on the heroine getting the man. Rachel’s big Irish family is hilarious, and she herself is quite an endearing character. You might be frustrated with her personality and behavior throughout the book, even when she seems to be recovering, but it is always a good thing when a book draws me in enough to start worrying about the characters as if they were my friends. I recommend this, and all of Marian Keyes books. Her best, in my opinion, are about the Walsh sisters, and though they do go in some order, you can read later books without ruining the plot of earlier books.

2 Responses to “Review: Rachel’s Holiday”

  1. sulz Says:

    indeed, this is my favourite marian keyes book. i really like happy endings too! i also reviewed one of her okay reads in my book blog.

    http://sulz.daria.be/archives/40

  2. paperbacks Says:

    Sulz, The Other Side of the Story was the first book I ever read by Marian Keyes. I think I found it a little long and jumpy with following the three women… I can’t remember if I liked it or not but I definitely liked her books that I read afterwards.

Leave a Reply

