Who are you?

December 5, 2006

This is a bit of a cop-out, link-and-comment post, but it’s an interesting topic. Wednesday is my last day of classes before finals start, so things are a bit hectic. I’ve also finished going through my recently read books to review, and all reviews now have to come from books I read now. Although who knows, maybe books will be a wonderful way to procrastinate during finals week!

Anyway, on to the post. So I myself am a college student, as are most of the other people I know who read Chick Lit. I consider us pretty smart girls–sure, we could be reading classics, but then we wouldn’t be having much fun, now would we? Anyway, so I generally don’t run around thinking that people who read Chick Lit and romance novels have a lower intellect or anything. However, even I was suprised by the comments on Smart Bitches, Trashy Boooks, when they asked their readers to talk about themselves. Goodness, these women all seem to have PhD’s in English! (well, they occured with frequency among the comments as I skimmed them–there were a LOT of comments).

So, check out the comments over there, and maybe leave your own here about who you are, and why you read Chick Lit. I wonder if Chick Lit readers are generally similar to romance readers? I think the two genres definitely don’t always attract the same people, and given that you like one genre does not mean that you’ll like the other.

11 Responses to “Who are you?”

  1. sulz Says:

    i’m 21, female, chinese malaysian, studying for a language & linguistics degree majoring in english, and i love nothing more than a good chick lit book.
    the sole purpose of reading this genre is that i derive most reading pleasure from it. i relate more to it as well since i can imagine myself in the shoes of these chick lit characters. it explores issues that are close to me as a female and brings me closer to issues that does not affect me.
    i admit that sometimes i’m a bit ashamed of displaying my chick lit book in public – i would turn the cover on the inside, facing my body as i stroll around with it in my hand.
    but it is that same book which keeps me up until two in the morning, thinking there’s only so little pages left to go, let’s just finish this and see what happens at the end!
    however, i don’t like romance. it’s too corny and melodramatic for me. there are the rare few i enjoy, such as the top-rated scarlett: the sequel to gone with the wind. my favourite chick lit books are the shopaholic series by sophie kinsella and the two bridget jones books by helen fielding. i also love jilly cooper, especially her best work, which is score!, in my opinion.

    Kel: Jilly Cooper writes with a horse-theme right? My mom likes horses so I grew up reading a lot of Dick Francis and Jilly Cooper. I think Jilly Cooper might’ve been the first book I read with a sex scene. Ooooh. I’m going to have to agree with you about sophie kinsella and helen fielding, because they’re amazing!

  2. sulz Says:

    score! has the least amount of horses if i’m not mistaken – i haven’t read her previous horses books. it’ more “lifestyles of the rich and famous”. i love how she lists every single character before the start of the novel, including the pet dogs. i also recommend books by her like the man who made husbands jealous (a bit horsey) and appassionata (not horsey at all).

    Kel: Ooooh, I’ll be sure to check those out, thanks!

  3. lovelyloey Says:

    I’m 20, female, Chinese Singaporean (woot the tiny little city-state below Malaysia) and ALSO studying for a degree in English Language (linguistics). Ok, I don’t read chick-lit anymore (only following the Shopaholic series now) because I think that there are just too many riffs out there!
    And another more personal reason why I don’t read chick-lit – I’m such a cynic I get really upset at the happy endings because I simply don’t believe them. Rather, I am afraid of coming up with a little fantasy world of my own and never be able to achieve it in real life.
    LOL.

    Kel: Oh no! I’m sure we can find something you’d like to read… you don’t want happy endings you say? hmm… I’ll think on it

  4. sulz Says:

    hey don’t knock off chick lit! if you see the titles i’ve recommended give it a try, it’s pure mental cotton candy!

    what degree exactly are you doing? is it a minor in linguistics?

    Kel: We’ll have to find something for her to read then, won’t we? hehe


  5. Hi Kel, I’m not telling my age! But I dropped over to visit because you’d so kindly left me a comment on my post called “What, Me Frugal?” and asked about how to get free books for review…

    Anyway, here’s my 2 cents, based on how I got started as a book reviewer on the reciving end of fabulous freebies, when just a poverty-stricken yet book-addicted student at university:

    Start with the small presses – they tend to have a hard time getting press, in competition with the big guys and bestsellers – and write a nice note to the promotions person, to let them know that you’re open to receiving review copies. Tell them your stats on readership of your blog, if you think the numbers might impress them!

    But do be aware print is still valued more highly than web publication, in the book world, so it would help if you can hook up with your local paper or a print magazine of some sort – scholarly publications often run on zero budget and are grateful for reviews.

    To start out, you’d normally write the reviews without payment from the periodical – your payment is in keeping the review copies and establishing your credentials as a book reviewer.

    Hope this helps!
    🙂 Jen

    Kel: Thanks Jen! Good to know! I’m still working on the traffic thing, so I guess it’ll be awhile before I get any free books… but we shall see… yes. Thanks again!

  6. lovelyloey Says:

    It’s not like I don’t like happy endings, but just that some of their lives are just so happenstance. Like, hello, such things don’t really occur in real life. To me chick-lit is a fantasy of another sort; the sort that you can almost anticipate to happen in your own life. LOL.
    Anyway sulz, am doing a major in English Language (we have no “Linguistics” here), you know, semantics and syntax and sociolinguistics and the works.

  7. sabrinafair2 Says:

    hmmm…I don’t like the idea of the main character being a detective…I dunno maybe it’s just because I automatically think of Nancy Drew. I also don’t know if I want to read through 150 pages of a dull plot-line (I don’t have patience like you!).

    Thanks for the review though.

    BTW lovelyloey, lol, I never thought of chick lit like that. It is a bit like fantasy when you really think about it…

    Although I keep reading chick lit I always hate it when the main female character complains about not having a boyfriend/husband and about how she will never get one…but she always does!

    Kel: Yeah, I always use the chick lit “fantasy” because usually the women aren’t perfect, and they guys like them for that–it makes me appreciate my own faults. Also, I’m glad the review was helpful–thats exactly why I wrote that about the beginning; if you know you don’t have patience, its not the book for you 🙂

  8. sabrinafair2 Says:

    ^Sorry I commented on the wrong post. I don’t like to give a lot of information about myself on the internet; I’ll just say I live in the Mid-West. I’ve always been into chick lit and have read some trashy romance novels (which I have grown out of).

    My favorite chick lit author is Jane Austen; original I know.

    Kel: Not a problem, thanks for your comments! Share however much you’re comfortable with–I was looking for stuff like, are you a college student, what are you studying, etc, so you could maybe say that? or not if you don’t want 😉

  9. Kathryn Says:

    I love chick lit! I love it so much I am trying to write my own but i want it to psychological and investigate the different aspects of the female personality. Please look at what I’ve written so far http://hiddenmelmelanieonline.blogspot.com/

  10. Bill Says:

    When I was in the submarine navy, I found myself at one point unable to do my job due to some security issues, so I did a bunch of meaningless work. Anyway, I ended up with 12-16 hours off between watches, and I found myself reading a book by Barbara DeLinsky. Much better than I thought.

    I think the name of it was something like “Together Alone” or something like that.

    Bill

    Kel: Yeah, chick lit is a lot more interesting than lots of people give it credit for. Some of course probably just wouldn’t appeal to men, but I’m sure there are lots that would!

  11. Bill Says:

    Kel,
    Another book that I found myself reading while at sea (same trip) was “Wuthering Heights”. I’ve always been attracted to the characters who seem to have something to hide, or the chip on the shoulder.

    Heathcliff, Beast (from Beauty and the Beast), and characters like that have always been intriguing to me. For me, the epitome of this type of character is the Phantom of the Opera.

    Bill P

Leave a Reply

