Review: Tara Road

May 21, 2007

Tara Road
by Maeve Binchy

Grade: A

Synopsis: This book begin with the focus on one woman, Ria, but the scope of the novel expands to follow the lives of several interesting characters. The story is about love, motherhood, home, friends, and dealing with sudden changes in life.

Review: I loved this book. It is sweet, the characters are loveable and interesting. Maeve Binchy manages to provide deep personalities and stories for each character, even down to the teenage daughter, and the husband’s mistress. The main character is a wonderful woman, who starts out with little self-confidence, but as she grows older she manages her house and children impressively. She’s a woman I wouldn’t mind being like–she’s kind to everyone around her, a good friend, a great cook. The book is fairly lengthy, so it is ideal to take on summer trips, to read by the pool or the beach.

2 Responses to “Review: Tara Road”

  1. John Saunders Says:

    I bought this book because I liked the artwork
    on the cover. I liked the novel very much and I
    even finished it (which I often don’t do).

  2. jenefur Says:

    I think I’ve yet to be disappointed with a Maeve Binchy book!

Leave a Reply

